"The WISDEM centre at this hospital is best avoided..."

About: University Hospital (Coventry)

Nearly a year ago I saw endocrinology for routine follow up. I wasn't happy with the way I was treated because the doctor completely contradicted what I was told previously. After expressing my concerns politely they said I would see someone else for a second opinion at my next appointment. I was supposed to have a follow-up after 3 months because my tests were abnormal and medications were changed so they needed to check up. No follow-up appointment ever arrived for nearly a year. They eventually sent me through an appointment with the wrong doctor's clinic. I originally wrote to PALS in May & June 2014, then again in Feb, March and April 2015 trying to this appointment corrected PALS write back very nice"concerned" letters but never actually fix the problem; all it requires them to do is send me an appointment with the right doctor. I can only conclude PALS are just there to deflect complaints as they do not fix anything at all. Generally the doctors have been friendly enough when you get to see them. The problem is you never see the same doctor twice so over the years I've had endless repeated tests and they never reach/explained the diagnosis because each junior doctor just repeats the last person's work and when you go back they have moved on. The secretaries are actively unhelpful, everything is too much effort for them - it doesn't matter how polite or reasonable you are they will speak to you like a piece of dirt and never do the things they promise. The appointments booking / administration side of the hospital is also woefully bad. I would rather not be treated by this hospital or trust at all. It is too big, too impersonal and they really don't care. Also the clinics always run late. Sometimes 30 minutes sometimes 2 hours.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital (Coventry)

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of Endocrinology at University Hospital, Coventry in March 2014. After seeing your posting it was clear that you haven’t received the level of service we expect. It is disappointing to read about your experience and the difficulties you have had in getting an appointment with the correct clinic and I would like to apologise for this. I have raised your concerns with the Group Manager for Endocrinology and he was already aware of your concerns. He has already arranged another appointment with the correct clinic for you and has shared your concerns with the rest of the team. I urge you to discuss aspects of your care further then please contact us by e-mail, our address is feedback@uhcw.nhs.uk Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: - Complaints Manager University Hospital Clifford Bridge Road Coventry CV2 2DX If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Communications Team University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Telephone 0800 028 4203

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful