About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

I'm now on to my 4th child and had all of them at Sunderland, my oldest was born extremely early at 27 weeks and the care she was given in the neonatal was the best ever! She's still having operations etc at Sunderland 10 years on as has cerebral palsy and I couldn't fault the place when it comes to her care! The only thing is, and thus really really annoys me, is the fact that I am currently pregnant and visiting the maternity unit again and the day unit for appointments and everytime I go I make sure I get there before my appointments due, and end up there for ages, last week my ante natal app was for 10.40 and I finally got seen at 11.55, good job I get my appointments for on my dats off work or I'd probably be sacked now!! The waiting time shouldn't be this long. In March I went for a scan and sat for 2 hours waiting. The other day I had to go to the day unit as we thought I May be in labour and it took an hour to be seen and then another 2 and a half hours before I was finally told that everything's ok!! In between that I was just left. The staff are great and really thorough most the time, I love the high risk consultant, they always spend time with me and always has over the last 11 years. The consultant explains things clearly and makes you feel so at ease..... The fact my consultant gets as excited as you when they see the baby on your scan is fab, they are a gem!! I do like Sunderland hospital, it's where I was born, it's where all my kids have been born and I wouldn't go anywhere else but for gods sake sort out the appointment waiting time please!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for your feedback and firstly we're delighted to know that overall your experience of care at Sunderland has been good. We are sure you can appreciate that on some occasions a patient wishes to discuss certain aspects of their pregnancy with the consultant and this may take longer than anticipated however we can appreciate how frustrating it must be for you when your appointment is delayed by an excessive amount of time. Please accept our apologies. We will ensure your feedback is shared with the department manager and ask her to look into this. It would be helpful if you would be happy to speak to her about your personal experience. If you are willing to do this, could you email corporate.affairs@chsft.nhs.uk with your contact details.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful