"Completely wasted my time"

About: Royal Alexandra Hospital / Dermatology

(as the patient),

I had an appointment in the dermatology department recently. First of all, I was not taken for my appointment until almost 20 minutes after the specified time (despite others who arrived after me being taken before me) and when I did eventually get seen to the doctor was rude and dismissive. I was given only basic information on my contact dermatitis which I already knew, and when I tried to speak the doctor insistently spoke over me and did not listen to what I had to say. I tried to explain a second condition which I had entirely independent of my condition on my hand but I was still offered no help and was only spoken to about the condition on my hand. I explained to the doctor that when I had last been to the departmentt they recommend I have a series of patch tests to determine the reason for my second conditionn - this was also dismissed. I left my appointment feeling angry and disappointed that I had completely wasted my time by even going. I shall have to now return to my GP for a re-referral (Which will once again take months) and specify that I do not wish to see the same doctor again.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear SolisAeterni,

Thank you for getting in touch to share with me the issues you had at your recent appointment. First of all, let me apologise for the delay you experienced in the department on the day you attended - there are sometimes unavoidable delays in Outpatient Departments due to many factors, however I appreciate the frustration that this can cause to patients, particularly if they are not kept informed of delays or expected waiting times.

Every patient that uses our services should always be treated with dignity and respect and allowed to be fully involved in their care, which means being listened to by everyone involved in that care. I regret that this was not your experience during this appointment and that you left feeling that your questions were dismissed and that it was a waste of time. I hope that you have been able to progress your further treatment through your GP, and that your next experience is much more helpful to you.

We use all feedback to reflect on the way that we do things, and I have already passed your comments on to the General Manager for this service. I would also be happy to look into the specific circumstances around your appointment in more detail for you and would ask that you contact me directly with more information if you would like me to do so. My email address is lorna.gray@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

Thank you again for getting in touch to highlight you experience,

Best Wishes,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful