"One of the worst hospitals going"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Been to this hospital all my life and over the years it have gone down hill rapidly. These are a few things that have happened on different visits. Appointments never run on time. You get left in a waiting room in a puddle of your own bleed. A&E doctors give you the wrong information. In A&E you get left on a machine alone for hours after you gone there with a heart condition. The hospital scruffy and dirty inside. When having a bandage cut off the nurse cuts you and doesn't say sorry because they are to busy talking about their pension. There are some good doctors and nurses but not many.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about our services. We are very sorry to hear that you have been so disappointed with your recent visits. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience. We are sorry you feel you were left alone during your visit but please let us assure you that patients are monitored using electronic screens linked to the nurses’ base. Some tests, including those related to heart rate and blood pressure, have to be done over a longer period of time to establish an accurate reading. Although staff may not always be visible, patients in A&E are always checked at intervals appropriate to their condition and we do encourage patients to use their call bells if they need immediate attention from a member of staff. We are disappointed by your comments about the cleanliness of the hospital. We take infection control very seriously and spills of blood, vomit, faeces etc are cleaned up by a member of nursing staff as soon as they are reported, before having a second clean by our domestics within 20 minutes. We also carry out a number of audits to ensure cleanliness is maintained. Additional cleaning will be arranged if a patient or visitor reports a specific issue. Although we always do our very best to keep to appointment times, sometimes clinics do run later than planned due to appointments running over. We do try to keep our patients informed by updating them verbally and displaying white boards in waiting areas. We are really disappointed that you have had such a negative experience of our services and the issues you have raised have been forwarded to relevant members of staff where possible. It is difficult to comment further on your specific case without your details and reviewing your medical notes, but if you wished to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510 they would happily look into the issues you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful