"Gallbladder removal"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

I had my gallbladder removed in day surgery in hairmyres and the team, they were brilliant. I've had a really positive experience until it has come to the follow up. I was told by my surgeon that there was no follow up as most people didn't have any issues so to get in touch if I needed to be seen. Since my surgery I have been in the same pain I had with my gallstones, 2 weeks post surgery I contacted the hospital to arrange a review by the surgeon and was told I had to ask my gp for an urgent referral or to present to a&e. My gp doesn't know how to treat me other than to give me pain relief but a referral has been done. As for a&e, I think this is ridiculous as they are trying to cut waiting time. I feel really angry and frustrated with the current follow up and I am still in pain 4 weeks later with no sign of a review. As a nurse myself I feel it is unacceptable to leave a patient in this situation.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Susan Friel, Chief of Nursing Services, Hairmyres Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Susan Friel

Dear Lorna79

I'm really glad that you had such a positive experience when you were getting your gallbladder removed. We have worked hard to ensure that patients are well supported during their stay. I'll pass on your positive comments to the DSU team, who will be delighted.

With regards to your comments about your aftercare, when you were still sore; I'm so sorry that this didn't go as smoothly. As your surgeon said, it is rare that patients need anything post operatively following this type of procedure, so we don't make routine appointments to see them. You should, however, have received a leaflet that explained what to do if you need any assistance. It says that you should either phone NHS24 for advice, go to A&E if you need urgent treatment, or go to your GP. If your GP is worried, then we would expect them to phone your consultant directly if they needed immediate advice, or to re-refer you to the surgeon if they think you need to see the surgeon again.

I'm sorry if you did not receive this leaflet, or if the advice wasn't clear. After reading your post, I've asked the DSU staff to review our leaflet to make sure our advice is clear.

Please accept my best wishes for your recovery.

Kind Regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful