"Lack of after care and medication upon discharge"

About: Warrington Hospital / General medicine Whiston Hospital / General medicine

(as a relative),

My partner was sent to Warrington Hospital for an emergency brain scan by a GP visiting him at home after complaining of a severe "cluster headache" that had lasted for more than 24 hours.

We arrived at A&E and sat there for nearly three hours even though we were given a letter and told to get to the hospital within the hour. His left hand peripheral vision had been affected. After three hours he was sent for a CT scan, various tests were done except urine test and at 2am he was put on Ward A6.

My partner was severely disorientated and unable to decipher how to hold his phone. He was kept on this ward for three days, we kept being told an MRI scan needed to be undertaken either that or a lumbar puncture procedure to establish whether he had had a mild stroke.

By the Thursday evening without having done the MRI or the other procedure he was discharged with no medication. He was still disorientated and when admitted his blood pressure was through the roof. At the most severe level and risk of a stroke. We were given no after care and he was complaining of mild headaches for two weeks. Then two weeks later he was rushed to Whiston Hospital having experienced a mild stroke.

Whiston have now given him the correct medication to deal with this type of blood pressure related stroke. Why didn't Warrington prescribe the blood pressure medication two weeks prior to him having the stroke?

I am absolutely disgusted. I found the sister on the ward unapproachable and condescending.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Lynch, Deputy Director of Nursing - Quality and Patient Experience, Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am so sorry to hear of your experience. We would really like to talk to you to get some more details of what happened so we can look into this. If you can please get in touch via patient.experienceteam@whh.nhs.uk

I hope your partner is feeling much better now and recovering well.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Warrington Hospital

Hi. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us for some reason. We'd be really grateful if you could contact us via our patient advice and liaison service so that we can take a look at the issues that you've raised. If you could contact us via pals@whh.nhs.uk we can address any concerns and it will help us to look and see what happened in this case.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Whiston Hospital

Thank you for contacting us with your comments during your partners recent inpatient stay at Whiston Hospital. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience. Your comments have been passed to the team involved in your care who will be glad to receive such positive feedback

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful