"could visit when suited me."

About: Southampton General Hospital

(as a relative),

What I liked

could visit when suited me.

What could be improved

the ward my niece was on could of been cleaned. my niece not once saw a cleaner. sweets on the floor for four days. crisp packet from 2007 in tv stand and its now 2009. my niece not once had her bed sheets changedshe has been there nearly a week. on one occasion my niece collapsed it took a while for her to come back round. my sister would never of known about this as the nurses never called her it was my nieces boyfriend that called i find this very disturbing. just makes me wonder what the nusres do actually do and what else they dont tell patients families. on another occasion my niece was in such pain she was crying and all the nurse said to her was stop crying and pull yourself together. (thats not the sort of thing to say to a scared upset child)

Anything else?

i have never in my life been to such a dirty un proffesional hospital

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

We have very high standards for cleanliness because it is so important to patient safety and we are sorry that you feel this was not the case and that you feel unhappy with the communication and treatment you have received from us. Please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison (PALS) team on 023 8079 8498 or email pals@suht.swest.nhs.uk and provide us with more details such as the specific ward on which your niece was treated, in order for us to investigate.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful