"What is an MIU for???"

About: Honiton Hospital

We came in with a deep cut and waited 2.5 hours to be told that we should have gone to A&E. That is all fine but why couldn't we have been told that within the first 10 mins. It is so frustrating to have wasted 3 hours and still have an untreated wound. Please can you think about he triage process?

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jayne Kruszewski, Customer Relations Manager, Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear patient

I was really sorry to note you had a long wait at the MIU, only to be advised you needed to go to A&E

Please contact our PALS service on 01271 314090 If you would like us to look into the reasons why you weren't advised sooner.

Many thanks


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Peter Brain, Volunteer, Healthwatch Devon

Dear 'anonymous'

The comments and responses on the web-site of Patient Opinion are shared with us at Healthwatch.

This experience you describe clearly unacceptable as it was a matter of basic communication. You can follow up as suggested.

More generally we are building a picture of the provision of services in Devon and these comments should help the NHS and other providers develop and improve their services.

If you wish to discuss any health or social care issues with us in confidence, including seeking advice or information about services, please call 0800 520 0640, or email info@healthwatchdevon.co.uk or go on-line to www.healthwatchdevon.co.uk.

Yours sincerely

Peter Brain


Healthwatch Devon is the consumer champion for Health and Social Care in Devon.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful