"Fleming ward- after surgery ward"

About: Hillingdon Hospital

I was transfer to hillingdon because of the pain. They just left me in a bed and told me to go by my self to the toilet when I was few hours after surgery. I almost fainted half way. I've asked the nurse if they could adjust my bed because I couldn't lie flat, and the nurse said no because they're old and left me. The floors was dirty, not to mention bathroom blocked and flooded. I never want to go back there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hillingdon Hospital

Dear Patient, Thank you for taking the time to document your experience. I am very disappointed to hear you were not given the help needed to assist you to the toilet. The nurses should have been more understanding. We have checked all the beds to make sure they are working properly, but we recognise that we need more electric beds making it easier for patients to get comfortable. You should have been offered extra pillows to ensure your comfort. We have proposed plans to purchase more electric beds for our patients in the future. Cleanliness is a high priority in all clinical areas, I am sorry this fell below the high standard expected. All areas are constantly monitored to ensure we are compliant with national standards. All identified cleaning shortfalls are highlighted to the charge nurse and addressed immediately. I would like to assure you that we take patient satisfaction very seriously and your feedback has been shared with the nursing and domestic team on Fleming Ward If you would like to discuss your concerns further please contact me via switchboard on 01895-238282 Kind regards Sinead Fagan Assistant Director of Nursing for Surgery & Anaesthetics

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful