"Appointment Management"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

I attended my appointment with the Orthopaedic Consultant at 10.30am yesterday as notified. I sat in the waiting room until 11.30 and was then invited to the X-Ray waiting room. At 12.00 I actually had an X-Ray and finally saw the Consultant at 12.15pm. From my enquiries I understand that I was required to have this X-Ray but there was only one X-Ray nurse available yesterday as the others were attending a training course. The X-Ray department was somewhat crowded! The outcome was that I needed another MRI scan of my knee as the previous one targeted the wrong area. I accept that these things happen and I have no complaints about the nurses, consultants or admin staff I saw. But why on earth can’t the NHS manage their appointments like anyone else. If you arrange a training course for a given function then you must know that will have an effect on the appointments and should notify patients accordingly. If informed I would have attended and hour or so later. I know your time is important but so is mine! The final insult was £4 parking charge.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. We are really sorry that you had a long wait for your appointment due to staff training and that you feel that you were not appropriately informed. Without more details it is difficult to comment further on the reasons behind the situation, but your comments will help us look at better ways of working to continually improve the services we provide. If you'd like to provide more detail or put forward a formal complaint please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01932 723553 or email pals@asph.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful