"5 hours later.."

About: Royal Surrey County Hospital

I arrived at the A&E department at about 9pm, and after waiting for about an hour I was seen by a nurse, who partially assessed me. I was then asked to wait to see the doctor. After hours of waiting, I was called at about 1.45am, only to be greeted with a rude and abrupt tone. They did nothing further to assess me that the nurse did not do, but instead spoke in a tone which I would describe as aggressive about guidelines and how, although I had waited for 5 hours, I could not have simply been given a leaflet by the nurse and told to use my own discretion as to whether seeing the doctor was necessary. There were at least 3 others in the waiting room who must have waited for the same period of time as myself. Furthermore, the nurses clearly struggled with english, constantly confusing patients' surnames and calling several times when the patients were clearly getting up already. The floor was covered in some kind of liquid that resembled urine. I completely respect the RSCH, and would normally rate it as an excellent hospital, but tonight I have been let down by the A&E department. I can only put this down to pressure on the NHS due to government policy, but something has to be done.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Surrey County Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a very positive experience and were unhappy with the care you received. We take all feedback seriously and would like to look into this further. Please could you contact us via email on rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net so that we can obtain more details?

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful