"still chaos with appointments"

About: Maidstone District General Hospital

After my review of 24th Feb 2015 (which I note the hospital have failed to respond to!), I now endured yet more hopeless inefficiency. Having tried to get my cancelled 2 appointments re-booked on the same day (as originally planned), I spent forever and quite a lot of money on my mobile, trying to get someone to answer the appointment queries line - hopeless, really useless! I hope this is a privatised group proving yet again that capitalism in the NHS is truly rubbish .... anyay whoever is responsible, it's truly amateur .... after several day of trying to get through I eventually got a nice and apparently helpful person who promised to re-book my cancelled appoitments on the same same day - and more fool me for believing them. I get a letter a week or so later - with only one appointment booked. Who employs these people? I can't face another expensive few hours on the phone, so I turn up on the appointed day (20th March 2015) - only to find that not only has the hospital failed to book 2 appointments as requested but in fact on that day there is no appointment booked at all! I have yet again booked time off from my work plus paid out £5.10 for train tickets, all for nothing. This really is hopeless; the receptionist at the clinic had, in the first place, apparently booked me an appointment for visual fields that no consultant had ordered ( a bout of insane fantasy apparently) and then the totally useless appointments unit had also failed to book me into the one appointment i did need (Almeida clinic) - so when I arrived at the hospital there was no appointment for me - at all. This is inexcusable and totally unprofessional and a 100% waste of my time and money. Maidstone Hospital need to get its act together in this area. They are truly hopeless and I don't know how long I can afford t keep struggling with this truly amateur set up - and I apologise to all the relatively efficient amateur organisations there are out there - Maidstone consistently fall well short of these outfits!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maidstone District General Hospital

Dear Mr Hooper, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience of the ophthalmology service. We are sorry for the delay in responding to you. We were very disappointed to read of the difficulties you experienced in relation to the arrangements for your ophthalmology appointments and to this end, we have shared your comments with the senior staff responsible for the clinical administration unit, where appointments are booked. Should you have any further problems in relation to appointment arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01622 224960 or email mtw-tr.palsoffice@nhs.net, where a member of the team will be happy to help. Kind regards, The PALS Team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful