"Western Infirmary Level 8 drumchapel hospital"

About: Drumchapel Hospital / Elderly Care Western Infirmary/Gartnavel General / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as a carer),

My mum was in ward 8 about 6 months ago and also about 2 months prior to this and the vast majority of the staff were caring, kind and fantastic with the high level of care they should towards my mum.

The only issues related to my mum having been in Drumchapel Hospital beforehand where I had complained about the continual lack of staff but also numerous incidents which were placing my mum in danger of injury.

One of these incident involved a nurse walking towards my mum on her bed and the nurse grabbed my 75 year old mum's left leg and raised it sharply upwards, shouting for my mum to go to bed and pulled her shoes off. My mum groaned with pain at this as she had just had a left side hip replacement. This same nurse then stood in front of the ward clock shouting to get off the ward as it was nearly 20:30.

So it was disappointing that some of the nurses within the Western Infirmary thought it was OK to completely ignore me and my family for weeks after we had complained about the continual neglect at Drumchapel Hospital, with one replying when I asked how my mum was, well seeing as you last asked 12 hours ago, there is no change or another nurse having a sissy fit when I asked for water for my mum.

The recent media coverage regarding whistle blowing and the associated bullying etc should also have included the same behaviours being directed towards anyone who complains.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear bertie111,

You have already been in touch through this site to share similar experiences and my responses to you asked that you get in touch with me directly with more information so that this matter can be looked into.

Unfortunately to date you have so far chosen not to contact me, however I would like to reiterate this offer to you and ask that you get in touch on lorna.gray@ggc.scot.nhs.uk. I appreciate that this most recent post refers to an experience at the Western Infirmary, however I would still need further details from you to allow us to look into both cases.

I have discussed your comments with the General Manager and Lead Nurse for the service who are also keen for you to get in touch as they do not recall the particular incidences that you refer to and would welcome the opportunity to look into this for you. If you do choose not to get in touch with me directly, I am afraid that there is a limit to what can be achieved through Patient Opinion, and while I have raised your concerns with the service, any further details you can provide will enable us to take this forward in a more meaningful way.

Yours Sincerely,


  • bertie111 doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful