"Referred 02/01/15 for trapped nerve between 4/5 in..."

The Initial response was excellent in that first consultation was organised for 13th January, 11 days after referral by my Doctor. At the initial consultation they identified a trapped nerve between 4/5 in my lower back. I was incapacitated so much that I had difficulty walking more than 20 feet due to the intense pain in my left leg and an inability to stand upright. At this consultation we agreed that doing nothing was not an option and that they would direct list me to have an injection. They anticipated that they would review the success of the injection after 2 months and then we could decide whether an operation would be needed to resolve the problem. The MRI was arranged for 27th January by phone the day after the consultation. The scan itself went well and the team were delightful. Then it started to go wrong. A letter arrived for an appointment on 28th, the day after the the MRI but this was an error and turned out to be the Initial Consultation duplicated. I arrived at the hospital on 28th January expecting this to be the day for the injection as discussed with the consultant 2 weeks before. However when the doctor came out to see me they apologised for the duplicated appointment and explained that I appeared to be in the system twice. The doctor did however show me the MRI and confirmed the diagnosis they had given at the initial appointment was right and that it was a trapped nerve and they would ensure I was put forward for a direct list injection. Since then I have no progress. I have left 2 messages on the answerphone for the secretary and neither were replied to. Following this I managed to speak to another member of staff when they were ill and I was assured they would call me back with an update. No reply was received to this call. I eventually managed to speak to someone (I think it was a secretary) at the beginning of last week who informed me that the earliest I could expect an appointment for an injection would be mid May. When I questioned this timescale they informed me that the Consultants were always promising things they were not in control of and there was nothing I could do to move this appointment forward. I have still not received written confirmation of this so am not convinced that this date will be met. Critically my quality of life is severely hampered with constant back & leg pain leaving me unable to live a normal and active life. I am very disappointed in the level of service as my Doctor referred me to Circle for a speedy outcome. This has not been forthcoming. I look forward to an early response and resolution to my case

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Circle Reading

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We apologise that this was your experience and would welcome that you contact us directly in order that we may investigate the concerns you have raised with you in person.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful