"I gave birth here. It was a truly ..."

About: Cheltenham General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

I gave birth here. It was a truly miserable experience. Overcrowded. Lack of communication between junior doctor and midwife; midwife to midwife; midwife to patients. when shifts change, treatment started by one midwife was not continued by the next shift and no one bothered to tell me. treated as a child - wishes irrelevant. one midwife downright rude - reduced me to tears. reason I was in hospital was Strep B - protocol was not followed. fellow patients had to help me post birth - never saw any staff. complete contrast to antenatal care in community which was exemplary.

What could be improved

communication with staff and patients and attitude towards patients. development of a service culture. learning from the community midwives.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cheltenham General Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent experiences. We do take the views of our patients very seriously and would welcome personal contact, because in order to look into your concerns in detail and to try to prevent a repetition of your experiences we would need more information.

If you would like to make contact please call the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 0193282.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful