"Vascular Surgery"

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

I received brilliant care and attention from qualified nurses and HCA , they do 12 hour shifts but do not get paid for any of their breaks. Clean sheets have too many stains on them, blankets too many holes in them, shortage of pillows, poor food, charges for tv and wifi too high and they dont always work, high charges for parking and having to go, sometime in bad weather is very uncomfortable and undignified outside the hospital for procedures. All the staff do a wonderful job with limited resources, very kind and helpful and certainly deserve their pay and more on top for their dedication to their patients and jobs

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

Dear Mr Tanner, First, thank you very much for your kind comments about the Nurses and Healthcare Assistants who cared for you whilst you were in hospital. I will be very pleased to share these with them. I am however sorry to hear that you had a poor experience in several other ways. I will make sure your comments regarding sheets, blankets and pillows are fed back to both the Vascular Ward Manager and Matron so that they can ensure improvements are made in this respect. I will also pass on your concern about the food to our Facilities Director and Lead Dietician. With reference to the charges for TV and Wi-fi, these are provided by an external company but I know the Facilities Team will be meeting with them to see what improvements can be made so again, I will ensure your comments are forwarded. Likewise, I will ensure your comment about car parking charges are forwarded to the Facilities Director but would like to assure you that money from these charges is put back into hospital facilities. Lastly, we are very much aware of the problems regarding some transfers within the hospital site meaning the patient has to be taken outside. As you may be aware, we are awaiting final approval & release of funding from the government to go ahead with a major redevelopment of the Royal Sussex County which I am pleased to say will solve that problem and mean a much better experience for all patients. Should you wish to have any direct contact with us over these issues, please do not hesitate to e-mail us via pals@bsuh.nhs.uk. Andrew Harvey Patient Advice & Liaison Service

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful