"No idea"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

I came to A & E as I have Crohns Disease and was in severe pain. The doctor assigned to me asked why I came to this hospital and not North Tyneside. I explained that it was quicker coming to Wansbeck from my home and also my Ibd nurse is at Wansbeck. They didn't seem to know what to do and eventually got a consultant down to see to me. I was made to feel I was wasting their time but was eventually admitted. I appreciate they are busy but not everyone is a time waster.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Alison, Many thanks for sharing this with us and enabling us to raise your concerns with the emergency care team. I am really sorry that our staff did not welcome you into the department as you would expect and that you were left feeling as though you were time wasting. I will ensure your feedback is passed on directly to the team - I know they will be disappointed to know that you left the department feeling frustrated with the attitude and behaviour of one of our consultants. We rely on all feedback to help us improve so thanks once agin for your thoughtful review, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful