About: Wythenshawe Hospital

I attended a and e after my doctor said I needed medical attention as I was feeling very unwell and had chest pains ( I had had a heart attack 2 weeks before and another previously 14 months ago).I arrived in a and e at 8.30pm ,it was very busy,I was taken to triage where they did an ecg,x ray and bloods,I was fitted with a canula and asked to go and sit back in the waiting room which I did for 13 hours without seeing a doctor,when at approx 3 am I asked the receptionist what was happening I was told they were very busy and ask again in half an hour. I was a lone woman feeling very unwell and there were some very intimidating people in there, by about 7.30am I had had enough and when asked I was sent through the door to the other reception ,I was told I was due another blood test (which should have been carried out 3hrs after the first one)and they wanted to do another ecg.my husband had rang and said he was coming for me and I told the staff I was leaving if the tests went done when my husband arrived, luckily the nurse behind the desk and Dr with them persuaded me not to and they would rush my tests through which they did ,i was then examined by a lovely consultant who said I was to wait in amru to see a cardiologist again my wait although more comfortable was a long one,I had been waiting for 21 hours before they got me a bed and decided to do an angiogram ,I hadn't slept in over 30 hrs although the great staff in amru offered me a side room for a couple of hours ,I cannot fault them they were great.eventually I got a bed on f5 and an angiogram was performed where they found a blood clot in my right coronary artery. at least 2 cardiologists didn't believe it was my heart and one actually suggested it was heartburn or indigestion. Amru and f5 were wonderful and the staff were caring and dedicated but a and e was a was awful sitting on my own for that amount of time with not one doctor in sight was an experience I do not want to experience again .it seemed that everyone who went into a and came back into the waiting room with a cannula in and then we were left.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices website. I am very sorry to hear of the long waits you experienced when you attended the Emergency Department at our hospital. I have forwarded your comments to the Manager of the Emergency Department however, if you would like to discuss your experience further so that we can investigate the reasons for the delays you encountered, please contact me on 0161 291 5381. Kind regards Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful