"Would not recommend"

About: Nottingham Woodthorpe Hospital

My mother had a knee replacement operation under the NHS. Firstly I want to say the consultant my mother had was absolutely brilliant, that was the only thing that was. Then it went seriously downhill from there. The treatment and most of the staff was unacceptable. The nurses totally disregarded what the consultant said my mother should do i.e exercises. When I asked a nurse for more information regarding my mothers care they replied she's got a buzzer, your mother can ask questions herself. On a number of occasions my mother buzzed the nurses and no one came. On one occasion my mother needed the toilet, a nurse came in and gave her a bed pan. They spoke rather harshly and left her with no help. Also my mother had to wait long periods for her drinks and food, she almost passed out at one stage. She told us the food was also almost cold. We was given different and conflicted information regarding my mothers discharge day. I myself had to arrange for a district nurse to visit my mothers house, for dressing changes and support. As the nursing staff at the hospital told me there is no longer district nurses. My mother is 78 years old, they gave her a course of injections to put in her stomach herself and some medications and dressings, and told her to get on with it. One nurse did escort downstairs when my mother was leaving, thank you to him. I certainly will be complaining to the national health complaints department regarding this service. This is appalling and I would not recommend the stay here to anybody. The nurses are very cold and un approachable, and seem not to have time for the patients. Only bare minimum?

Story from NHS Choices


Response from Nottingham Woodthorpe Hospital

Dear Patient

I am very sorry you have endured this experience at Woodthorpe Hospital, clearly there are many opportunities here where we could have taken much much better care of you.

I came into post 4 weeks ago and Woodthorpe Hospital and apologies you have not been responded to sooner. I will however share you feedback with the staff and ensure the opportunity to learn and improve is taken. If you would like to deal with this issue as a formal complaint please do not hesitate to give me a call and pass on your personal details.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read