"Where is the dignity and care?"

About: Princess Royal Hospital (Haywards Heath)

(as a friend),

Today I went to visit a friend of mine in hospital. I hadn't been able to see her for a few days because there had been an outbreak of a sickness bug on the ward. I arrived to find her slumped in her chair in a dirty nightie and dirty dressing gown and looking generally dishevelled with tears on her cheeks. Her trolley was also in a similar state with used tissues and her glasses too far away for her to reach. There were also tissues on the floor and under the bed. Her bedside cabinet was stuffed full of her things clean and dirty all screwed up together leaving her with no clue as to what was available. I was unable to speak to anyone on the ward about this as I was so utterly shocked and sad to see my 93year old friend in such a terrible state. Is this what we call treating elderly people with care and dignity? Would you be happy to find your grandmother in this condition? I think and hope not. This is not acceptable! !

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Royal Hospital

Dear Telscombe Friend, I am so sorry to hear about your experience visiting your friend in the Princess Royal Hospital. The situation you have described is certainly not what we want to see or expect regarding the care given to patients. I will find out which wards had been closed to visitors due to a virus and make sure that your feedback is sent on to the ward managers and senior nursing staff. I am grateful to you for raising this. Alternatively, you can of course let us know the ward your friend was on either by e-mail to pals@bsuh.nhs.uk or by calling us on 01444 448678. You can leave a message out of hours on that number. Once again, thank you for raising this. Kind regards, Andrew Harvey Patient Advice & Liaison Service Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful