"I am extremely unhappy about the way my appointment was handled"

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS) The Princess Royal Hospital / Ophthalmology

(as the patient),

During august 2014, my sight became slightly blurred and on examination by my optician it was decided that I needed laser treatment as I had previously had cataracts removed and debris from this procedure was clouding my vision.

In September 2014, I was put on the waiting list at the Princess Royal Hospital for a routine appointment which subsequently came through for January 2015. This was fine I would wait. During the next two months my sight deteriorated to the extent that I could hardly see at all and had to stop driving and as I am disabled and live alone it was frightening.

Upon re-examination my optician and GP decided this laser treatment needed to be done asap and requested my appointment be brought forward, in a letter sent in December 2014.

Neither my GP nor I heard any more about it and I went for my routine appointment in January 2015 where I received an excellent treatment. When I asked about my requested earlier appointment I discovered my GP’s letter had apparently had just been filed in my records and nothing was done about it.

Apparently it was decided that I would not be seen any earlier, I am furious about this. Who decided this should happen, totally ignoring the request of a qualified optician and a qualified GP who passed on evidence of my deteriorating eye condition.

I worry about the fact that although my problem was not life threatening it could have been more serious than just laser treatment and I wish to make a strong complain about the fact that a decision was made by someone in the hospital to treat this request flippantly. I am extremely unhappy about the way this was handled! !

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Dear Sky956

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TRAQS team.

Unfortunately the information you have provided relates to the actions taken at the hospital and not by TRAQS as we are only involved in the initial discussion of an appointment and management of your referral. The hospital manages their own waiting list for laser YAG procedures and we have no access to their appointments for this procedure.

May I suggest that you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Officer (PALS) at the Princess Royal Hospital who will take more information from you and look into your concerns and provide a response from the hospital.

You can contact the PALS team either by writing to the address below or by phone:

Patient Advice & Liaison Service,

Princess Royal Hospital,

Apley Castle,

Telford, TF1 6TF.

Call into the PALS Office which is situated in the Main Reception.

Open Hours

Monday to Thursday - 9am to 5pm

Friday - 9am to 4.30pm

Tel: 01952 282888

01952 641222 ext 4382

An answerphone will take out-of-hours messages

Fax: 01952 222365

I hope that you are now benefiting from the laser procedure and your quality of life has improved and wish you well for the future.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful