"Repeated failure to organize inter-hospital..."

About: Newton Abbot Hospital

My father is currently being treated in Templar ward and has on two occasions now, missed specialist appointments at Torbay Hospital due to the lack of organization at Newton Abbot hospital. this is leading to a delay in treatment of my father who has been diagnosed with cancer. The ward staff were made aware on 3 separate occasions of the upcoming appointment which was mailed through to a home address and not to the hospital directly. The first notification was given to the hospital ward staff 6 days prior to the appointment and the staff/ward clark was again reminded on two other occasions to press home the importance of this appointment, especially given that a previous appointment at Torbay Hospital was previously missed due to "a misunderstanding". The final reminder was given the day before the appointment and yet I receive information today to inform that my father has yet again missed an appointment at Torbay Hospital. One mistake can be understandable, however, another mistake at the next occasion seems to demonstrate a trend of systemic failure or willful neglect to duty. I have the upmost respect for the doctors and nurses in the NHS but am extremely disappointed at these occurences. A call was placed to ask for an explanation but the doctor treating my father was unavailable at the time, however, details were left to return my call but no call has yet been received. I can only hope that other patients at the hospital are treated with a greater priority and that any internal communication issues are resolved procedurally within NA Hospital to prevent reoccurences of the above nature. I stand by to await news on my father's rescheduled appointment and treatment plan which is at a critical stage of his illness.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Newton Abbot Hospital

Dear Enquirer, Thank you for the feedback you provided on 23 March 2015, I am sorry to hear that you have had cause to raise concerns regarding services that are provided by Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust to your father, please accept my apologies for the issues you and your father have experienced. I would like to discuss your feedback in greater detail to ensure all the issues you have experienced have been captured and investigated appropriately. This will then allow the Trust to investigate your concerns thoroughly and feedback to you with their findings and any actions that have been taken as a result of the investigation. If you could please contact me using the contact details below it would be much appreciated. Steve Clark Feedback and Engagement Officer Torbay & Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust Bayhouse | Nicholson Road | Torquay | TQ2 7TD 01803 210491 steve.clark2@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful