"Need to be advised on customer care immediately"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

Hygiene was an issue ie dirty sinks with old blood in. If in physio etc at meal times got no food. Had to keep asking for pain relief only to be told "when nurse comes round" even though you were well overdue for it. Took own medication in only to be told when discharged it had been accidentally given out there fore had to make an unessaary trip back next day for it. Felt intimidated to get needle instead of been put to sleep which may I add the needle did not work so had to be put to sleep and I had told them of my fear of needles. They are just a few of my concerns. The worst one was when my father died and was wheeled through the deptment on a trolley uncovered in front of every one including his own grand daughter that was extremely devastating for all of us. The staff doesn't seem to care about anything, there is no compassion.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the concerns you have regarding the care you have received recently. It was very disappointing to read your account and we would like to apologise that the care you received did not meet the standards you expected. Please be assured that your comments will be fed back to the department. As your comment has been posted without patient details, we are unable to look into your concerns in detail. However, we do wish to investigate this further so would be grateful if you could contact the Help & Advice Service using the details below: Email: Helpandadviceservice@chsft.nhs.uk Telephone: 0191 569 9855 or freephone 08005876513

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful