"MRI Confusion over missing images and passwords"

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

(as the patient),

We brought a copy of my MRI's but discovered there were missing images!

We informed them and were supplied with a new copy, but this also did not have the missing images on; another letter; they arranged a meeting.

At the meeting the person from the Trust took our second copy saying she would send it back to us. We were given a new copy.

We are still waiting for our second copy to be returned; we have contacted them.

Also we have had to ask for the password for the new CD as our old one will not open it.

The Medical Records Services Manager wrote to us saying that if we were not happy we should put in a formal complaint.

The complaint was put in, in February 2015, we received no reply so wrote again, but we have as of yet not received any kind of reply to either letter/complaint.

(Just to let you know we still do not have the password for the new CD and so are unable to open it and the second CD has not been returned as promised! )

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Patient Opinion.

We are sorry to learn that you have experienced problems following your request for copies of your MRI scan. You note that you have raised complaints about this, and we are sorry to see that, at the time of your posting, you had not received a reply. Having checked the records, it is clear that responses have now been sent to you, and hopefully, this problem has now been resolved to your satisfaction However, if you have ongoing concerns or are not satisfied with the outcome of your complaint, please do not hesitate to contact a member of the Patient Relations Department on 0191 223 1382.