"Waiting far too long for test results"

About: Leeds PCT

(as the patient),

I had some pathology tests done at my local GP over two weeks ago and am still waiting for a doctor to run through my results with me - even though I have been told my results were abnormal.

Firstly I was told by the GP who conducted the tests over two weeks ago that I would be contacted within 10 days if the results were abnormal - I wasn't, I had to contact the surgery myself having not heard and then was told the results were in fact abnormal. An admin person who I found quite rude told me I would have to make a telephone consultation with my doctor to discuss the results, but my doctor's first available appointment was three weeks away as she was on holidays. After saying I would not like to wait another three weeks, having just been told my results were abnormal and already being apprehensive, she then said another doctor could call me, but this would be in another five days later as that was the first available appointment. Reluctantly knowing I had no choice I arranged this, however they were not able to even give me a rough time of day when this GP would call, only the day.

So I cleared my day to be available for the call and as luck would have it the doctor called at the very second I could not get to the phone in time. I called the surgery back within 60 seconds (literally) and the same phone receptionist informed me because I missed the call I was classed as a “did not answer” (DNA) and my appointment would need to rescheduled. I informed her, I had literally just missed the call and called straight back but she said there was nothing that could be done and I needed to reschedule for another two days - again giving me a rough indication that the call may be in the morning. I even tried to make a face to face appointment to guarantee I would at least get my results instead of missing my one chance of a phone call but the staff member said that was not possible and that they were very busy. So I await another call in two days time and there is a chance if I again happen to miss it or if the line is engaged that I will be waiting till next week for my results.

I think the system is completely flawed, are patients meant to keep phone lines clear all day (because the surgery can’t even give a rough time when the GP will call) and sit by the phone so they don’t miss the call? All I need is some pathology results and I feel these are being delayed by a doctor who can’t wait two minutes after calling someone - just in case they may call straight back.

Finally, there are signs across the surgery saying staff will not tolerate rude behaviour, however as a patient I feel I have had to just accept condescending and rude staff at this practice every time I contact them

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient and Public Involvement Lead, Leeds PCT

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Patient Opinion.

I am sorry to hear that you have had problems getting your pathology results. I was also sorry to hear that you had difficulty speaking to your GP on the telephone.

I shall make sure your comments are passed to Calverley Medical Centre.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful