"St Peter's Hospital"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

My mother was admitted to Holly Ward last year. We called the ward as soon as we found out at 10pm the staff member we spoke to was surly and annoyed that we had disturbed them, it sounded as though they had just woken up. We visited mum the next day and were very concerned that she was unable to reach her jug of water for a drink it had been left on the over bed table at the foot of the bed. Mum was very distressed that the staff would shout at her if she asked for a drink and that her purse had gone from her hand bag whilst she was asleep. I spoke to a nurse who told me that Mum was being a nuisance. I asked for their name which they refused, they weren't wearing a name badge. I asked an assistant for help locating a clean glass it took five attempts to get them to understand what I was saying but they did eventually give us a clean glass, grudgingly. I wasn't happy leaving mum in the care of such people but she had a bad chest infection and needed to be in hospital. I only wish she had been admitted to the Royal Surrey because this place has such a terrible reputation. Mum begged us not to leave her there at the end of visiting time because she was not confident that she would receive adequate care at this hospital because of the type of people working on the ward. We shared her concerns but had no choice. I hope that Mum is never in a situation to be admitted to St Peter's again

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. We are extremely sorry and concerned to hear your comments about your mother's care and the experiences you had when you called and came to visit her. This is not the high standard of care we strive for in our hospitals. We would like to discuss this further with you. Please could you contact our Patient Experience Team on 01932 723553 or email pals@asph.nhs.uk. Alternatively, you can contact our Head of Patient Experience and Involvement, Louisa Daly who is extremely concerned and keen to talk you about this in more detail so that we can improve our services and care for our patients. She can be contacted on 01932 726436 or email Louisa.daly@asph.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful