"poor comms, lack follow up,lack care at Upper..."

About: Churchill Hospital

Been outpatient for 2yrs plus at this unit, started well, found have severe gord/hiatus in chest etc, causing me severe problems bleeding gums, awake all night,vomit in sleep,told needed op,spent last 2 yrs being put in front hurdles,consultants not responding to my gp, ever, Moore life staff being ignored, by consultant,after they said I wasnt suitable for operation, and my quality of life poor, appointments cancelled, by consultant, never seeing same doctor twice in a row, a culture of disgrimmination against higher end bmi, mine is 36bmi, lack of understanding to patient,being informed by ad hoc 3rd parties, my operation wasnt going to happen, having my procedure changed , never being told this, ?Did I ever exist?2 yrs later, condition worse, oral and rectal bleeding,gp at end of their medical help , as they never get updates,ive served in military civil service and nhs,this has been the worst experience of my life,diagnosed with several conditions,treated for none, very sad see this in uk hospital,sick people are having treatment refused, and knocked off operations lists, by using the bmI moor life/let out card, shame on you, this system cant continue

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Churchill Hospital

Thank you for your comments regarding your treatment at the Churchill Hospital. I am sincerely sorry that you were not treated with the care and compassion that we expect to be provided for all our patients. We would be very happy to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact Samantha Douglas, Acting Complaints Co-ordinator on 01865 223257 or email samantha.douglas@ouh.nhs.uk who will be happy to discuss the investigation process with you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful