"Wisdom Tooth Emoval"

I was refered to the Birmingham Dental Hospital by my own dentist who felt i needed the expertise of this hospital for the removal of two wisdom teeth, i was given two appointments as i was having the teeth taken out from opposite sides of my mouth upon my first visit the dentist was a trainee who although was trained enough to remove the tooth their lack of bedside manners did little to put me at ease whilst having the tooth removed. They at first numbed the area at the back of my mouth but seemed urgent to carry on not giving the anisthetic time to go numb after a couple of tugs i stopped them & they put another dose of anisthetic into my gum i continued to moan ( as they put it ) & was told if i did`nt stop moaning i would be put into another room as i was upsetting the other patients i was given a further 2 injections before i could not feel anything they then broke the tooth & eventually after drilling out the remainder removed the tooth & nerve`s. i was in the dentist`s chair for 3/4 hr On my second visit i was introduced to a different dentist who has been qualified for over 5 years i asked if they would give me enough anisthetic before they started so as to be able to remove the tooth without to much difficulty or pain & discomfort for me they said they had read the notes from my previous visit & would allow time for the injection to work, but again they had to give me a further 2 injections before i felt no pain, the tooth then broke & again they had to resort to drilling out the remainder of the tooth. After they had removed the tooth they said to the nurse that i should`ve been sedated this time because of the amount of anisthetic they had given me & the amount of time it had took just short of 1 hr due to the tooth being attached to the jaw bone the same as the other tooth. i have had to return to my own dentist on at least 3 occasions because of infections to both sockets & i have now been refered back to the Birmingham Dental Hospital for a review due to the amount of bone fragments that keep coming through my gums my 1st visit was in Decamber 2014 & my second visit should have been two weeks later but i postponed it until after the new year in January 2015

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Dental Hospital

Dear Mr Watkin Thank you for raising your concerns with Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry for the delay in responding, which is as a result of the lead clinician needing to look at your clinical records before posting this response. I am sorry your care and treatment has caused you concern. I have been advised that you will be contacted very soon and offered an appointment. I trust that any questions you have about the issues you have raised will be addressed during your appointment; however should you wish to discuss your concerns in person with me, I can be contacted via email: alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk Alison Last Associate Director of Patient Experience Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful