"Chest Infection?"

About: Tameside General Hospital

I visited TGH the other evening with a fast heart rate. I had been ill for a few days with a terrible cough and sore throat. I had visited the Go To Doc earlier that day and been given Antibiotics, which may or may not have contributed to my palpitations. I had to wait for a while to be seen by the Triage Nurse, who was very polite, friendly and professional in their mannerisms. I was then asked to return to the waiting room. I waited for what seemed like ages(don't remember the actual time). I was then taken into a room for an ECG and then asked to return to the waiting room area. I was eventually taken into a cubicle, asked to get undressed and had a PulseOximeter, and BP cuff fitted whist I waited to be seen by the doctor. I had bloods taken and was given some paracetamol as I had a headache and asked if I could have some. After some time a doctor came in to see me and asked me what was the reason for my visit. I explained everything to them. They listened to my chest and looked at the back of my throat, as I had told them it was painful. They then told me that they had lost my blood results( not sure which department or who had lost them?). I asked how did that happen. They said it sometimes happens. They then said that it didn't really matter as they were sure in their diagnostic opinion, that I was suffering from a virus and the blood results would't really make any difference. And to come back if I started to feel worse or my condition changed. They then discharged me. I personally think that the blood results would have made a huge difference to me as I was concerned about my heart rate and it would, if nothing else have put my mind at rest. Also the bloods would have shown a raised WCC if I was fighting off an infection( which again I am sure would have eased my mind). I feel that doctor's need to interact more closely with patients and do all they can to ensure that tests are carried out properly and re-done if necessary to make patients feel safe and empowered. I feel there was a break down in communication somewhere between departments which resulted in a lack of continuity of my care. I was happy with the nursing staff but not with the doctor and their attitude and lack of interest. They did not put my mind at rest and I left the hospital wondering if my blood results may have changed my course of treatment, or at least given me some indication as to why I was feeling so poorly. Its not that I don't appreciate the NHS, I do. I also think the staff work very hard and are sometimes unappreciated. I just think that a routine blood test should be carried out routinely and re- submitted to ensure the best out come all round. The blood is so important in telling us so many things. Thats why they do them in the first place. otherwise why bother? Kind regards, NHS Patient.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry you have had to post these comments about your recent experience

We take patient concerns very seriously and we can only improve if we know what is going wrong from a patient’s perspective

If you would like us to look into this in more personal detail

Please can I ask you contact Alice Baxter Head of Nursing 0161 922 5199 or Alice.Baxter@tgh.nhs.uk

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful