"Ward 1"

About: Airedale General Hospital

After being admitted from accident and emergency department i was initially in ward 2 then moved onto ward 1. My experience in ward to was a total disparity from ward 2. I was suffering from dehydration and throughout the day i didn't have enough water to hydrate myself or take my medication with. The doctor on duty showed a lack of compassion and failed to acknowledge my cry for help when I said that my memory was deteriorating and i had been suffering from headaches and blurred vision for over 2 weeks. I am 21 and explained that this had not happened to me before, and the doctor merely said there was not a neurologist or endocrinologist on duty and i had to leave. I am still suffering from the headaches, vision problems and memory loss along now with problems with my well being. I feel like my condition was not shown the proper attention and as i result i have deteriorated to being bed ridden.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Airedale General Hospital

We are pleased you were satisfied with your care on A&E and Ward 2, but disappointed to read that this was not the case whilst you were a patient on Ward 1. We would value being able to discuss this with you further and urge you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team on 01535 294019

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful