"Skylark Ward foundation wing"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Recently my child was admitted to hospital, the doctors were great but once they had gone and we were left with the nurses it was awful! Don't actually no who was looking after my child, no one came to tell us. When needing a nurse at night there was none about I must of walked round the ward 3 times! When I found a nurse they told me they was not looking after my child they would send the nurse in when they finally came I asked if they could do some obs as my child seem to be more poorly their reply was im done them haven't I? We'd only been there 3 hours waiting! Obs were rushed and then the nurse had disappeared before I could even ask about medication! This ward is like a ghost town at night for nurses! Good job for the great doctors maybe they should be training the nurses better or better still get more nurses to fewer patients!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I am extremely sorry that this was your experience on Skylark Ward as we strive to provide the best possible care for the babies and children on the ward. Please can you contact me on 01536 492286 to discuss the issues you have raised. I would like to investigate this further and address these issues. Donna Mason Paediatric Matron Skylark Ward

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful