"Poor directions and comunications at Leicester General"

About: Leicester General Hospital / Urology

(as the patient),

In late April I had an appointment at the Leicester General Hospital at 3:10pm. A friend assisted me to the hospital, arriving at the Urology clinic at 2:30pm we was informed by the receptionist the clinic I had an appointment for had moved on this day we were told we had to go to the ambulance station and there would be a walkway from the ambulance station to the clinic. We spoke to a paramedic driver who informed us that the building we wanted was near the maternity unit.

We entered maternity and yet again was informed the building we wanted was across two car parks. We found outpatients 2 and after booking in we was told we wanted outpatients 4. My friend who is in an External Fixator after a severe motorcycle accident could not walk any longer and a porter was called to transport him in a wheelchair to outpatients 4.

Upon arrival in outpatients 4 we was told the consultant had left, the receptionist rang doctor and told him we had arrived 1 hour and 30 mins late to which we corrected her that we was given incorrect details on numerous occasions by staff who work at the Leicester General Hospital.

After we corrected the receptionist we said the staff should be more informed at the General Hospital to which she replied in front of her colleagues “its not my problem” when asked who we can make a complaint to we was informed if we complained the consultant would refer us back to our General Practitioner and it would take up to 10 weeks to find a new consultant.

We left outpatients 4 shocked at how we had been treated, the pain we was both suffering after walking around for an hour and 50 mins was severe, needing a break we entered outpatients 3 where the staff obviously saw how distressed my friend was. After explaining the situation to the nurses they was alarmed at how we had been treated and urged us to make a complaint in writing to you.

The time is now 6:00pm my friend has returned to the Leicester Royal Infirmary because of the extreme pain he has suffered and I still have not been seen by my consultant. Words cannot describe the anger and disappointment I am feeling toward the General hospital at this moment. I am shocked that I was treated in such a way and demand that inquiries must be made into this incident. I am shocked that because I wanted to complain I was the victim of verbal aggressions from the staff in out patients 4 unless this matter is sorted I will write to my local MP and also inform the Leicester Mercury of my treatment I have received today.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from

Thanks for your story. It sounds like you had a really hard time. At the end you asked if Patient Opinion can sort this out - probably the best way to do this is not through us, but via the PALS office at Leicester General or phone 0116 258 3100.
  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Communications Officer, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

Dear reviewer,

We are really sorry that we haven’t responded to your comment. We did not receive a notification from Patient Opinion to let us know about your posting.

If you would still like us to look into your concerns, please contact us with an explanation and your full details by emailing communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Kind regards,

Communications team,

Leicester’s Hospitals

Recently read