"Baby with difficulty breathing"

About: Russells Hall Hospital / Paediatrics

(as a parent/guardian),

I called the NHS regarding my child struggling to breathe. They sent an ambulance to my house. The paramedics checked my baby over and told me there was something not right with his chest and would probably need a chest xray to find out what was going on.

I got to the hospital around 6. 50 pm, I waited over an hour to see a doctor said that something was not right so he fetched another doctor for a second opinion. The second doctor agreed that something was not right and he would have to see a paediatric doctor. I was told that my child had an infection but they was sure what and that the doctor was going to fetch my child some spray to open his airways and arrange a doctor.

Over 2 hours later a nurse came to collect me and take me to the ward, where a doctor came and agreed he could hear wheezing on his chest so we would have to stay in for observation. Roughly 5 minutes after I opened the door to hear a nurse say to a different doctor that if I stayed there wouldn't be any empty beds.

Fuming I asked a different nurse if she could keep an eye on my child for 5 minutes so I could go and do something and was told that they were all to busy and I would have to wait for the doctor to come and see us. I told them that I had already seen a doctor and they said no you got to see the other one. I went back to the room for the doctor to come in and tell me there is nothing wrong with my child, he just has a blocked nose and that we should go home (12am).

As he was not and still is not aware that I heard the nurse talk to him, I questioned him as to why I had been told by 2 paramedics 2 nurse/doctors in a n e and a doctor on his ward had all told me that something was not right and now he was saying there was nothing wrong. His reply was that he was the consultant doctor so hes answer was final.

Offered me nasal spray which I explained made my child worse last time and sent us home.

I am disgusted in this experience and I will be making a formal complaint if my child gets worse as I feel they sent us home so they could keep a bed free.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your son’s visit to our hospital. We are very concerned by some of the issues you have raised and we are really sorry that you have been so dissatisfied with the care your son received.

We understand you have lodged a formal complaint with the Trust and that the Complaints Department is currently investigating. We hope it will address the concerns you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful