"out patient experience"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I visited outpatients this week and one person let the whole system down. Someone helped me check in who was lovely, everything was good with my consultant and the phlebotomy team were also good. I needed to make an appointment for endoscopy and this was what let everything down. The young woman stared at her computer all the time so didn't notice/ acknowledge I was waiting, when she did look up at me she didn't say anything. I eventually sat down in the room she was in and she continued to work on the computer but eventually booked an appointment for me and must have only spoken 1 or 2 sentences to me throughout, continuing to look at the screen. I therefore found her to be very rude and arrogant in her approach. Anyone working with the public needs to have excellent interpersonal skills, more so when you are dealing with people who are ill; her attitude throughout was inappropriate.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We will share your comment with the Endoscopy Unit. However, if you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.pals@nhs.net or in writing to PALS, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. PALS can discuss the best way that we can address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful