"Good quality care at A&E, shame about the parking!"

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

I had to attend A&E with my daughter in the middle of the night. We were seen as quickly as can be expected given the late hour and my daughter ended up being admitted for the night for observation. I can't fault the staff on A&E, who were all very supportive and professional in their approach. Likewise the ward staff (Ward 8, I think) were all very helpful and kept me informed when I asked them to. This isn't the first time this has happened and every time, the staff have been marvellous, although sometimes the wait at night time can be very long, especially when more than one discipline is involved. I have just one complaint: the new parking system. The previous system was a pay-and-display system which only operated during the day and even during the day, you could always leave a note if you were in A&E and were unable to pay at the time. The new system is automated and operates round the clock. This means two weeks after the incident above, I received a £70 penalty notice for parking outside A&E in the middle of the night! Obviously, when you arrive at A&E in an emergency situation, the last thing you have time for is sorting out the parking fee, even assuming you've had the presence of mind to find the right change when you leave home. I've spoken to the hospital about this and they've agreed to waive the charge but it's still been a shock I could've done without. They've told me that next time I need to give my registration details to the receptionist but really, I think they should ask for that along with all the other personal details they take when you attend.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Macclesfield District General Hospital

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your experiences in A&E and on the ward. It's great to hear you were so pleased with the service provided - we have fed back your comments to the staff concerned and they were very grateful for them. We were sorry to hear you were unhappy with parking arrangements, however it has always been the case that parking tariffs apply at night and to all visitors parking at the hospital. However, since the introduction of the new system we have emphasised that anyone who feels they have received a parking charge notice unfairly should appeal straight away and the notice will be cancelled in cases with genuine mitigating circumstances, like yours. Thanks again for taking the time to feed back on your experiences - further information about parking at Macclesfield Hospital, including a map of parking areas at the site, can be found here: http://www.eastcheshire.nhs.uk/Patients-Visitors/car-parking.htm

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful