"lack of consultants available for prenatal..."

About: Homerton University Hospital

I'm 36 weeks pregnant and went today to see my consultant to discuss: 1. previous scan results 2.further plan and possibility of induction (baby seems on a large side) 3.best delivery position while having the baby monitored Waited 20min to arrive myself for the appointment as there was only one receptionist available.That shouldn't happen on a busy mid morning Monday clinic and cover ,in my opinion,should have been arranged. Next waited more than 1h to see the consultant only to get to know there was no consultant available at all and only registrars were seeing the patients.Registrars had no consultant available to discuss any matters they were not certain about! Registrar didn;'t analyse my scan results,couldn't advise about the induction claiming that can be discussed in 2 weeks (why not now?),couldn't advise about delivery positions claiming it's best to ask the midwives (as clinic run 1h late all midwives were already on lunch so no one to ask).Also was advised to have blood test done,as I always do after every appointment,only to discover blood test lady was already on lunch as well. Now I'm at home trying to organise myself blood test with my GP! I'm now stressed about possibility of having complicated delivery! Please please arrange locum consultants or midwives to see patients as I feel that seeing the registrars ( seen twice by now) is a waste of time! Midwives and obstetric ultrasound clinics always run smoothly and professionally!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Homerton University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to our antenatal clinic. We are very sorry you had such a poor experience. Your comments have been passed on to the maternity team. We would like to understand more about what happened on this occasion so that we can give you a full explanation and aim to resolve the issues you have raised concerning your care and treatment. I hope you will contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) 020 8510 7315 or email PALS.Service@homerton.nhs.uk so that we can investigate further and give you an opportunity to discuss your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful