" I’m justified to be upset"

About: Rotherham PCT / Continence service

(as the patient),

The continence prescription service has always been excellent. Given me what I ask for all the time and usually deliver the next day. It’s unbelievable how efficient they are and I’m so grateful to them. However, just one thing. Recently I ordered my usual prescription which included 90 conveen opitimas and I only use one in the morning and one in the evening. I think this is perfectly reasonable as I am a really active person going to the gym every day and do wheel chair racing in Leeds plus I have a girlfriend so cleanliness is vital to me. So I was very upset to be told I should only use one conveen a day by the girl on the phone. How dirty is that? Apart from when you are so active I find that later in the day after sweating etc they start to ease off not totally but after 24 hours it would. Then there’s having a girlfriend. DO you think it’s normal or acceptable not to shower in the evening before bed not going into too graphic detail as we are only human still! I can’t think of anything more disgusting than keeping a conveen on for more than 24 hours. What makes me more mad is that I’ve paid my duties to this country serving nearly 13 years in the army. I’ve never been on the dole, I’ve never asked for anything and now I’ve got someone coming out to give me a talking to on this subject and I’m not too impressed at all. So I don’t know how you will find my complaint but it’s how I feel and I totally believe that I’m justified to be upset. However, I still do have the service and hope to sort this issue out. Thank you.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Wyatt, Manager, Patient and Public Involvement , Quality Assurance Team, Rotherham Clinical Commissioning Group

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and experiences. As this is a clinical issue, I have sought advice directly from our continence service. They have given me the following information:-

"We are sorry you have been upset by the query regarding the amount of products you have requested. We would have queried the quantity as sheath drainage systems are designed to be changed once every 24hrs, as per manufacturers recomendation. For the majority of people the average prescription quantity for a month would be 30, anything above this may trigger concerns, and checks that the correct size of product is being used

However we do know some gentleman, particularly those with spinal injuries, change sheaths more than once in 24hrs. This is usually because they play sport and the perspiration makes the adhesive less effective and the sheath then becomes prone to leakage. If this is the case that is fine, no-ones allocation of product is reduced if it is clinically required, this may have already been discussed with you if the nurse has already visited you.

We do need to look into the reasons why people request products in quantities higher than what would be considered ‘normal’ as it can indicate problems which may place the person at risk of infection or skin breakdown.

We also have a responsibility to ensure NHS resources are used effectively and in the situation you describe, they are."

If you would like to discuss this further, or have any more difficulties in obtaining the supplies you need, please contact Joanne Mangnall on 01709 423369

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful