"No parking!"

I arrived with my three little kids in tow for an eye appointment for my middle child. In plenty of time for his appointment I circled the parking lot and could only find handicapped spots in the hospital car park while there were at least ten open in the adjacent health centre's parking lot. Not wanting to be late for the appointment, I weighted the two evils and chose the £25 fine of parking in the health centre car park over the £100 (at least) fine of parking in a handicapped spot in the hospital car park. Obviously I would like a refund of the money I paid for the fine as I consider this poor planning on the hospital's part and not my own. If I had known there would be no spot to park in I would have been forced to park in Tesco's lot, which also has signs up warning people not to park there for reason other than shopping. This just seems ridiculous, a hospital should have spots enough for all the appointments one has there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from CPSU

Dear Sara, Thank you for your comments. I was very sorry to hear of the difficulties that you have had when attempting to park at Abingdon Community Hospital. Please be aware I will forward this matter to our Estates and Facilities Department, however I wonder if you might also wish to re-contact us to provide us a little bit more details of the time and date that this occurred. I have provided our details below. pals@oxfordhealth.nhs.uk Tel: 0800 328 7971

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful