"What a Farce !!!"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

I came into A&E with severe lower abdominal pains. I was seen by a very helpful triage nurse. The service standards dropped as soon as we were admitted into A&E. I was kept waiting for hours on end before anyone even spoke to me. I begged for pain relief and that was eventually given to me after I threw my toys out of the pram. The A&E staff were keen to get rid of me and stated that they were transferring me to a bed on the surgical assessment unit. Instead I was left in the waiting area despite the fact I couldnt sit down in a chair. When I raised my concerns with the staff, a nurse told me that he had spoken to a male in A&E and had been told that I was fit enough to sit down in the waiting area. I demanded the nurse's name and told him I wished to make a complaint. Surprisingly, his attitude and that of the other staff changed immediately and I was given some space in a consultation room. I was seen by a doctor who sorted out some pain relief. The only problem was that the doctor assessed me I the waiting area in front of other patients. What ever happened to medical confidentiality??? The nurse confirmed that it was common practice to get all A&E patients to sit in the waiting area regardless of their condition. And the wait continues. I was told that I needed an ultrasound. Funnily enough, not one bet of staff In either of the two departments knew if the Ultrasound clinic was open or not. I am still sat here waiting for these incompetent, statistic manipulating people to work a plan out whilst chuckling at farcical posters around the hospital saying how they believe in compassionate care. Being lied to by staff to my face is something I would've never expected off people who are supposed to be professionals. Disgraceful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Anthony Banton, Patient Experience Manager, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear responder

I am sorry to learn of the experience you have had whilst using our A&E services. Although our patient feedback tells us that over 95% of people who pass through A&E rate their care as good or excellent I am unhappy to hear about the difficulties you have had. If this is something you would like us to investigate your concerns as a formal complaint please contact me on anthony.banton@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful