"rd&e limb centre"

About: Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Firstly i would like to complain about the scandalous service that i receive at RD&E limb Centre Exeter I recently had a cast taken for a new limb( left leg amputation whilst serving my country) and have had the check fit appointment now cancelled twice in the last three weeks and again on my appointment date today. Having arrived today expecting it to be checked ,i was told that the fitter has been off sick on and off since i had the original cast taken on the Monday 19 January I had my first appointment for the 10th February cancelled and received confirmation of a new appointment for the 19 February last week ,when i attended today i was told that they had been trying to contact me but the details they have are incorrect,strange that I've been coming to this pitifully run department for 15 years sorry years. It appears that this department on average tends to complete a limb build in 3 to 4 months ? totally unacceptable. But outstanding by your standards ? There is a Armed Forces and Veterans' Charter that you may or may not be aware of that clearly states All veterans are entitled to priority access to NHS hospital care for any condition as long as it's related to their service, regardless of whether or not they receive a war pension As i served my country with honour ,i expect and demand better treatment I really am livid with the poor attitude this department has The effect on my daily life is extreme when I'm constantly fobbed off with poor excuses,and poor service ,i rely on having a properly built prosthetic limb being supplied to me ,which again is not happening I have been given three further appointments on the 6/13/18 march i have no doubt that one or more will be cancelled 46 days from the original cast appointment and I'm sure there will be a further delay,46 days for a check fit? what a further 46 Days for delivery I may not have been blown up recently,so you can take photos and get on the band wagon All service veterans have the right to Priority treatment and care whether it was recent or fifty years ago

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital (Wonford)

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Mobility Centre, and I am sorry to hear of your concerns. I can confirm that we have received the e-mail you sent directly to us. We will be looking into the issues you have raised, and will respond to you in due course once we have received further information. If you have any queries in the meantime, please contact the Patient Experience Department on (01392) 402363 or (01392) 403915.