"Would not recommend"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

My daughter had started with D&V on the Friday morning having not tolerated a great deal of food or fluid for several days prior to this, she had had not eaten all day and was not tolerating any milk, this was not normal for her. She was limp and lifeless all day by the evening we decided to take her to A&E where staff discovered she had a low blood sugar we were admitted to ward 21 at 01.30 am when bed available before leaving A&E Her blood sugar was rechecked and was still on the lower side. We were in a side room on ward 21 which was perfectly acceptable clean and tidy and received regular visits from the tea ladies and cleaners during put stay. During the Friday night we were admitted observations were carried out several times and she continued to vomit even small amounts of fluid. The following day reviewed by consultant whom was happy for my daughter to be discharged as long as she could tolerate some diet. She was now not passing trine I was asked to try to provide a urine sample it does not take a genius to work out you won't get nothing out of it isn't going in... This persisted throughout the whole of the Saturday staff did the odd observation. She continued to vomit anything that went down abd had foul smelling diahorrea( no sample requested) I was ony own with me daughter whom was actively vomitting and passing diahorrea called the nurse buzzer only to be ignored for 10 minutes to then walk round the corner to find the ward sister doing paperwork..... Is it not everyone's responsibility to answer nurse call bells? All I can praise massively is the night staff in the Saturday whom came on shift repeated her observations and blood sugar looks at how little fluid she had had all day and expressed my concerns yet again that she was completely lifeless. They got her reviewed immediately and she was fed through a tube over night by the Sunday not I g she was a lot brighter and starting to have some milk day staff then came on shift and we were back to square one again... I was asked if I wanted the feeding tube removed, I asked what would happen if she could not tolerate anything they said "well then we will have to put the tube back in I suppose". She didn't not tolerate a great deal all day again to which we got the impression they still wanted us to be discharged from the ward that day.... We self discharged in the end as the day staff extremely unhelpful and rude. They listened to my concerns then dismissed them stating they did not believe she was dehydrated despite her lips being dry and her licking them for a drink. Do we not provide preventative nursing now? Or do we just wait until the child is critical.... Children deteriorate quicker that adults yet if an adult had been admitted with similar symptoms they would have received far better treatment! It appeared to be an inconvience and great effort for certain staff to change the linen when my daughter had vomitted on it. Would not go back.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent vist with your daughter to Ward 21 at Darlington Memorial Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion and we have sent your comments onto the Head of Child Health. She has indicated she or someone from the service would be willing to speak to you directly if you wish. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website and that it is about the comment about Ward 21 at Darlington Memorial and that the Head of Child Health has offered to speak with you. We will then get in touch with her again to put you in touch with her directly. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful