"Total hip replacement 12/2/15 Sanbourne Suite then..."

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Firstly, on the whole the care I received was excellent, unfortunately the failings were worrying. On 2 separate occasions ( 1 on ward 7, and 1 on Derwent) staff member (possibly HCA) opened the door without waiting for the 'ok', whilst I was receiving personal care, I think you must agree this is unacceptable. On his rounds, the consultant pulled the sheet out from under my operated leg, thus twisting the leg....painful! Whilst I was being transferred to a trolley to be moved to The Derwent, one of the staff (HCA?)pulled the sheet from beneath the operated leg twisting the leg, and causing unnecessary pain, she then proceeded to apply pressure to the actual wound site in order to 'log roll' me, again v painful, she was reminded yet again that that was the operation site. However, once I was placed onto the trolley the same staff member proceeded to put my bags on the operation site, despite me removing them, and being reminded yet again, by the porter this time, where the operations site was. On the Sunday, I was assisted into the shower by a nurse. The shower curtain does not keep the water in the shower stall, so the floor was v wet.(the nurse did place a towel on the floor for safety) I finished my shower and completed as much as much as I safely could, called for the nurse, who I assumed would be close by to assist, but there was no answer. I was left in a predicament: I could not leave the bath room with wet feet, could not put my foot wear on alone, and was reluctant to use the red cord a this was not an emergency, I felt very vulnerable and almost naked except for t shirt and a small towel which I managed to tie around my waist. After a few more minutes, another nurse came by and assisted with the completion of my care. As I said previously, the majority of the care I received was outstanding, and the theatre and ward staff, everybody I have dealt with have been helpful, pleasant and efficient. But as you can see from my review, I was very disappointed and upset by these events.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sue Mellor, Patient Experience Lead, Royal Bournemouth & Christchurch Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Ms Elkins

We appreciate the time you have taken to make this posting and are grateful that you recognise that some of the care you received was excellent. However, I do agree that there have been some failings in the quality of care that we have provided to you.

Because we take this so seriously I have escalated your feedback to the Head of Nursing within that direcatorate for investigation and review. I would appreciate it if you would consider this is in the process of an investigation and I will respond back to you when the team have had an opportunity to look into your comments and provide me with the results.

Apologies for the delay in a full response and thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. In the interim period if you would like to talk to someone please contact our PALS department on 01202 704886.

Kind regards

Sue Mellor

Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Ms. Elkins As discussed I have escalated this to the department Head of Nursing and she has sent the following reply having discussed with the ward sister. “Reinforce to all staff at team briefings about the importance of privacy and dignity and basic courtesy, particularly on the Derwent noting when the dignity light is on and making sure they are used. Contact will be made with the surgeon who pulled the sheet out from under your operated leg and addressed accordingly as this is not acceptable and for that we apologise. We will also be reminding staff through ward briefings to be careful when transferring patients and to make sure that they place any patient property (bags) safely on beds and so as not to cause any discomfort to patients. We also apologise for the issue with the shower curtain, this can be a problem but we are unable to raise the sill on the shower stall for safety reasons and recognise that the problem would be resolved by installing shower doors so will be investigating the feasibility of this. We will also be reminding staff that they must make patients aware that they can ring the red corded bell for assistance and that it is not an emergency bell but an assistance call bell. I am extremely sorry that these issues mentioned detracted from the otherwise excellent quality of care delivered and I would like to thank Ms Elkins for bringing them to our attention.” I hope this appropriately addresses the concerns you raised and will improve the experience of future patients. Once again I thank you for raising these issues with us and apologise that they detracted from your experience with us. Regards Sue Mellor Head of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read