"Mixed feelings"

About: The James Cook University Hospital

I attended the out patient and have nothing but praise for the consultant. I was treated sympathetically and professionally. However I had to have some blood tests and that's when everything went rapidly downhill. The nurse called my name (I presume she is a sister as her uniform was dark blue) but she wasn't wearing a badge to identify her. That was the only time she looked at me. In a brusque manner she pointed to a seat & told me to sit down. At that point a pillow came hurtling towards me & I was told to rest my arm on it. At this point I would have expected her to introduce herself & explain what she was going to do. She didn't but just starts to take the blood. At this point she asked me my name, address and date of birth without even looking at me & whilst she was taking the blood. I thought you had to identify a patient by checking everything carefully with the patient record. She then roughly put a cotton wool ball and tape over the puncture site. I was then 'dismissed'. She didn't say goodbye or give me any information as to when the results would be available. I am a recently retired nurse having worked for over 41 years in the NHS & I was shocked as to how I was treated by this woman. We would never have got away with treating a patient in this manner. It felt as though I was an inconvenience to her. I am reluctant to formally complain as I know I will be attending the clinic on a regular basis & I don't want this to affect how I'm treated in the future. I only hope I do not have the misfortune to see her again. She needs a swift lesson in compassion and social skills.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The James Cook University Hospital

Good morning Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Rheumatology Department at The James Cook University Hospital. Firstly, I would like to apologise for the delay in responding to your comments, which were due to technical issues. I am very sorry you have cause for concern regarding a member of staff and we will of course investigate this. I should be grateful therefore, if you would contact me at your earliest convenience on 01642 854500, to discuss your concerns further and the options available to take them forward. Yours sincerely Miss Barbara Bellamy Patient Relations Secretary

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful