"Reducing care package"

About: Royal Derby Hospital / Paediatrics

(as a parent/guardian),

We agreed to look at a height adjustable bed for my son with health needs. We receive a home care package for him. We gave measurements of his bed and said it can't be any bigger as it would be too big because the room is small. When we saw it it was bigger. We said this but asked if someone from the hospital could come and see a solution as to fitting everything in safely. I tried to get them to come for nearly three weeks and then the manager phoned to say they were reducing the package even though they had not contacted us before. We were made to have the bed and now the room is an accident waiting to happen and I have three year old twins, an 8 year old with health needs and an 11 year old and this is in my dining room.

Feel totally bullied and let down. It's affecting my health because of how it was handled as we need this package to function.

I've been to my GP and had to be put on medication to help me sleep.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Firstly, due to some technical difficulties, we apologise for the delay in being able to respond to your review. However, we were very sorry to hear of your plight and the difficulties you have been experiencing regarding your son's home care package. Without more details, unfortunately we are unable to respond more fully to you. However, if you would like us to look into this further and respond more fully, you may wish to consider contacting our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS), on Freephone 0800 783 7691 or via email dhft.contactpals@nhs.net, who would be happy to try and assist you further.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and may we take the opportunity to wish you and your family best wishes for the future.

Kind regards

The Patient Experience Team for Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • Brussel doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful

Update posted by Brussel (a parent/guardian)

We have been to PALS before and gotten no where as the people who are asked to investigate our complaint are the ones we are complaining about so we've now taken it to our MP. Thanks

Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback, received on 15th May on the NHS Choices website. However, we are aware that this review was first posted in February 2015 via the Patient Opinion website and this was responded to at that time. In view of this, we have nothing further to add, other than to confirm that staff are aware and are dealing with this matter. Many thanks once again and we certainly hope this matter can be fully resolved at the earliest opportunity. Kind regards Patient Experience Team for Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful