"Hadfield 2"

About: Northern General Hospital

My Father stayed in this ward for 4 weeks and hated every minute. The staff were rude and did not want to do anything. When he asked or buzzed they kept saying they would come back in a bit (which could be 2 or 3 hours) or said it's not my job! He wanted to go to the toilet and waited 2 hours for someone to come back, so he tried to get there himself and fell. The support worker then told him he had done it on purpose. He was having problems with water on his legs and they left him sat in puddles of water and wet bandages. It was disgraceful. The man in the opposite bed died in the night and I went at 12 noon the next day and he was still there! ...... Disgusting. The food and service was awful. They used to leave the urinal bottles on the tables and expect my dad to eat his food off it. When he complained they said it wasn't their job to move it. I would not recommend this ward to anyone.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were very sorry and concerned to read abut your account on the care provided to your father and about the standards of nursing on the ward. We would like to be able to respond in more detail to you about this and would urge you to contact us to allow a full investigation. Please could I ask that you contact our Patient Services Team on either 0114 271 2400 or pst@sth.nhs.uk and a member of the team will take additional details from you.

Thank you again

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful