"Mixed feelings"

About: Northern General Hospital

I have recently been discharged after 5 days in hospital, not been from Sheffield it was quite daunting getting rushed in at 1am in morning by ambulance. I have nothing but praise for the doctor who saw me in A and E he made me feel relaxed and kept me up to date with what he thought was the matter. The sister and staff nurses were also brilliant making sure they kept on top of my pain. It all went wrong when I was moved to SAC I waited from 4am till 7am just to see a doctor on ward round. The Nurse was the most rude, uncaring person I've ever met she refused to give me pain relief, snapped at me more then once and as I was withering around the bed in complete agony 2 different cleaners said to me shall I get the nurse you look in a lot of pain she still took 10 mins to come and then told me I couldn't have anything else. Didn't phone a doctor or even care this wasnt normal for someone to be like this. She was more concerned about telling eeveryone she had to much to do and how tierd she was. Now I work in a hospital myself and I wouldn't dream of treating someone like she did that day. I was so relieved when I got moved to Firth 8 later that day, even though I was still in a lot of pain I knew they were doing everything they could for me, a member of staff who worked on there on the Friday in C bay is worth her weight in gold, she got the doctors to come and see me and made me comfortable, always popping her head round to see if I was ok. I'm glad to be out but I will be putting a formal complaint in about the nurse on SAC, no matter how busy or tierd you are it should not be taken out on the patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Gem

Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your comments good and bad and will obviously be relaying the comments about the good care that you received to the staff involved.

However, I was very concerned to learn where our services let you down. If you wish the Trust to investigate your concerns please could you contact our Patient Services Team on telephone number 0114 271 2400 or alternatively email PST@sth.nhs.uk and a member of the team will be pleased to take more details from you. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful