"Parking eye"

About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

My husband was discharged last Friday after an eight day stay. He had excellent treatment throughout. Today I received a PCN notice from Parking Eye relating to the time we arrived on the previous Friday night. It was dark when we arrived and I parked in the Chester Road carpark. I paid £3 which I thought would cover the time I would be there. I did not see any notices about parking terms and conditions and as my husband was in severe pain was not in any condition to seek them out. Unfortunately my husband needed to be admitted and I stayed with him until he was given a bed. By the time I left it was very late and I was anxious to get home to my sons, one of whom has learning difficulties and was upset at his dad's illness and my absence. I gave no thought to parking charges and went straight home. As I said earlier today I received a notice to pay £70!! This is outrageous for a few hours. Incidentally whilst my husband was an inpatient you have had at least £5 per day in parking charges at visiting times. In my view Parking Eye should be replaced with a ticket on entry and pay on departure system which would not only be fairer but also prevent the situation I and many others have found themselves in.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

We are sorry you encountered problems with parking charges. You have contacted us via email and we have asked our Portering & Security Manager to contact you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful