"Very dissapointing day"

I walk in to the outpatient East clinic today for family planning appontment which I booked 4 weeks ago. I called the call centre 1hour before the appointment to confirm the location and was not made aware of any issues. It took me nearly 4 weeks to have this appointment only to turn up and be told I can't be seen because the system is down and therefore have to book another appointment through the call centre. I have had to make arrangement at work to come to this appointment and commuted 1 hour. The member of staff at the reception was really rude and did not show any sign of compassion Whatsoever. The least I would have expected is a text message warning me so that I did not have to commute! Overall very disappointed and do not wish to go to that hospital ever again if I have a choice!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Barking Hospital

I am sorry for the time taken to respond to your review, it has only recently come to our attention that you have not received a response.

I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. I have contacted the Integrated Care Director for Barking and Dagenham and Assistant Director of Adult Services to request that an investigation is carried out to look into the concerns you have raised. As we cannot respond to these serious concerns on an open forum, we would welcome the opportunity to hear from you further and invite you to contact our Complaints Team on 0300 555 1201 ext. 66690 or by email at nelftcomplaints@nelft.nhs.uk at the earliest possible opportunity.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful