"Appalling experience."

About: Gloucestershire Royal Hospital

My son had been seen by an out of hours doctor with bad stomach pains and a temperature. I was asked to take him to Gloucester hospital . We arrived late in the evening and when we arrived the nurses seemed disinterested. We were told to sit in the waiting room which we did. As it was almost 23.00 hours my son was very tired. He laid across the waiting room chairs and put his head on my lap. The floor in the waiting room and observation room appeared very dirty; it was quite shocking. We were seen by the nurses initially for observation and then sent back to the waiting room. We then waited two hours to be seen by the doctor. In front of me I could see a ward with beds; there was only one child in a bed, at one point two children and yet despite my asking early on if my son could lie in a bed he was not given one. After two hours we were seen by a junior doctor. By this time te calpol my son had been given by the previous doctor had done to job and his temp had come down but he still had stomach pain. The doctor seemed to think that the fact that his temp had come down was enough to send my son home. Then she said we would just have to see the senior doctor to make sure. I asked whether it would be possible for a nurse to change the dressing on my sons finger. He had fractured his finger two weeks earlier and the dressing needed to be changed. I was a little nervous about changing it plus I did not have one. As this is a hospital I was sure that they would help but despite me asking three times nobody did anything. Anyway, we were sent out to the waiting room again. We then waited another half an hour to see the senior doctor. I went to the desk to ask for some more painkillers for my son. There was only the doctor there who completely ignored me and continued with his writing. He did not even acknowledge me. I was determined so stood in frnt of him waiting for around 5 minutes,I thought his attitude was disgusting but did not want to cause fuss. When we finally got to see him he decided that my son should have blood tests after all. Finally we were given a bed for my son. The results of the blood test took a couple of hours to come back. They had no markers. This meant, despite the fact my son was still in pain, they woke us up, discharge papers in hand. At this point I was so exhausted I could not argue. I did ask about the dressing one more time to which the reply was that they didn't have a suitable dressing ( this was a simple rectangular dressing) . He nurse sit was daytime they could have ordered it. Quite shocking. We then left the department. We went out of the wrong door ( nobody told us anything) and as it was late at night we were then unable to find an exit that wasn't barred. This was the last straw, trailing around empty corridors with my son who was still unwell. Whilst I understand that they may have been very tired, staff should try harder to treat people with respect. A very poor and upsetting experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gloucestershire Royal Hospital

Hello, Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about the experiences that you and your son had at Gloucestershire Royal and would very much like to look into them further. If you haven't already done so, would you be happy to get in touch with our patient liaison (PALS) team so we can take a few more details? You can call PALS on 0800 019 3282 (Free phone) or email pals.gloucestershirehospitals@glos.nhs.uk Many thanks again for bringing this to our attention. Best wishes The team at Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful