"The service was above and beyond what I had expected"

About: Dundee Dental Hospital

(as the patient),

I had been suffering from severe toothaches in multiple teeth but as I hadn't been to the dentist in twenty years I wasn't registered with anyone. I couldn't take the pain anymore, so visited the dental hospital.

The reception staff were fine and gave me a form to fill out, thereafter I had to wait for an hour to be seen by a dentist. this wasn't a problem of course, as I was more than happy I'd be seen.

An hour later or so I was called for by an older gentleman who was the dentist I was to see. he was very attentive listened to what I had to say and asked me plenty of questions regarding prior history with my teeth and health. After a thorough examination the dentist said he would do his best to see if I could have an x-ray done. This was granted and I was sent back to the waiting room to await my x-ray. Half an hour later I was taken by a dental nurse to the x-ray department were I was explained too what was about to happen and why. Not sure of the title of the person who done the X-rays but she was very friendly and put me at ease. The x-ray machine is actually a frightening piece of kit as it swivels your head, that done back to the waiting room to be seen again by the dentist.

Fifteen minutes later I was called back in by the dentist who showed me my x-rays on a machine that back lighted them. He explained that one of my roots had completely disintegrated and that I would best have that tooth extracted. He himself couldn't do the extraction, but would have someone do it today. I was sent back to the waiting room again and within fifteen minutes the dentist came in to speak to me and told were to go for my extraction.

That was me done with that particular dentist. I must say he was brilliant and the service I received by him was above and beyond what I expected. I wish I could remember his name.

After that I was given a slip of paper and sent to another department for extraction. I was met by a young dentist who also put me at ease and got straight on with the extraction, quick and painless. I was given a letter for a follow up appointment that I sadly missed.

I feel terrible about missing that appointment as I was given such great care, unfortunately I have an inflammatory disease that can literally disable me for weeks and had no option.

I have since moved on to a local dentist who seems fine but I don't think is up to the standard I received that day. I'm writing this story as I'm off to see him just now and had actually felt like visiting the dental hospital instead.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside

Dear Dakster

Thank you for sharing your story on Patient Opinion. I was delighted to hear of your positive experience on visiting the Dental Hospital, particularly on reading of the pain you had been experiencing and the fact that you hadn’t been to a dentist in 20 years.

Staff at the Dental Hospital do their utmost to put patients at their ease and aim to make any procedures as quick and painless as possible. I will ensure that your grateful thanks are conveyed to them. I note that you have now registered with a local dentist and I hope your recent visit went well.

Kind regards.

Alison Moss

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful